What is an ANC?

The District of Columbia is divided into 8 Wards, which are in turn divided into Advisory Neighborhood Commissions.  There are 46 ANCs in the District, and these are further divided into single-member districts.  Commissioners are elected from each single-member district on a non-partisan basis, and serve for 2-year uncompensated terms.  The Commissioners in each ANC meet regularly to discuss and vote on matters affecting their constituents.  District government agencies are not required to follow the recommendations made by ANCs, but they are generally required to give ANC recommendations "great weight".  ANC 1C is the Advisory Neighborhood Commission for Adams Morgan, and consists of nine Commissioners who live in the community.  If you have a matter that you would like ANC 1C to address, please contact your Commissioner or the Chair of the relevant Committee.  We encourage everyone to participate so that we can do the best possible job representing Adams Morgan.

ANC1C Boundaries

ANC 1C covers the area between Rock Creek and Harvard Street NW on the north, 16th Street NW on the east, Florida Avenue NW on the south, and Connecticut Avenue NW on the west. 

ANC 1C 2023

ANC 1C By-Laws

The ANC operates according to its ANC 1C By-Laws, which were most recently updated in November 2015.

ANC 1C Budget and Financial Reports

ANC 1C receives quarterly allotments from the District government adding up to approximately $18,500 per year to  cover the Commission's administrative expenses and to provide grants to non-profit  organizations that serve the Adams Morgan Community. The Commission's  budgets can be found here. The Commission's financial reports can be found here
ANC 1C Annual Report